Open Nav



05 JULY 2019 (TORONTO, ON) - Enigmatic Berlin-based composer and pianist Lambert, who’s live trademark is to perform wearing a Sardinian bull mask, today announces his stunning new album True to be released via Mercury KX/Universal Music Canada on September 13. True will be available on vinyl, CD and download across all streaming services. The video for the first track taken from the album, entitled “Vienna” is out now.


Watch the video for "Vienna" HERE


The album is inspired by the notion of true versus false. What is true and what is false, and how do we make such judgements? Such issues reflect our post-truth society, where opinions are conflated with facts and many cling blindly to beliefs even when confronted with cold, hard evidence. “Nobody really knows anymore,” says Lambert. “Especially with the internet.”


“In music, truth and falsehood is different than when you talk about facts in politics, or in the media,” he explains. “In those worlds, there are no ‘alternative facts’, but with music you have to rethink this concept, because it opens up to give different truths to different people. My associations and feelings towards a song can be completely different to yours, but both are equally valid; for me, it’s the truth, for you, it might not be. So the only real truth is the listener’s perspective.”  As such, Lambert invites you to listen deeply, and draw your own conclusions about what he’s trying to communicate.


Lambert is a singular talent whose bold vision and compositional flair is informed as much by pop music and wider culture as it is by any classical repertoire. From 2017’s stunning Sweet Apocalypse, a masterful collection of orchestral works concerned with locating moments of beauty amid the dystopian future humanity is fast racing towards, to this year’s haunting, delicate Alone EP, Lambert has created his own, spellbinding sonic language that stirs the soul and inspires the mind. By turns hypnotic, sombre, and enchanting, he excels at creating moods and mesmerizing the listener; a deep sense of drama often gives way to an enigmatic playfulness, colourful melodies skipping lightly through his songs. What’s clearly beyond doubt is that with True Lambert has created a truly astonishing and breathtaking record. See a full list of tour dates at



True Tracklisting:

  1. Porcelain
  2. Jean-Luc
  3. The Dance
  4. The Stream
  5. Sparrow
  6. Vienna
  7. Awake
  8. Wedding
  9. Tram
  10. Otis
  11. Nostalgia
  12. November