Open Nav



Listen HERE


Taken from the new album

Bob Marley & the Chineke! Orchestra - out 22nd July


22 APRIL 2022 (TORONTO, ON) – “Get Up, Stand Up” by Bob Marley & the Chineke! Orchestra is released today by Island Records/Universal Music Canada, the country’s leading music company.. Taken from the forthcoming album Bob Marley & the Chineke! Orchestra, the Marley/Tosh penned anthem is reimagined here with stunning new orchestration. Originally on the Bob Marley & The Wailers 1973 album Burnin’, “Get Up, Stand Up” was a rallying cry to people to take action and avoid oppression. On this magnificently orchestrated version, Chineke! retain the power, message, and strength of the original song.


Recorded at Abbey Road Studios and produced by Nick Patrick (If I Can Dream, Elvis Presley and the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra; True Love Ways, Buddy Holly and The Royal Philharmonic Orchestra), Bob Marley & the Chineke! Orchestra features many of Marley’s best-known songs reworked in the unique Chineke! style. Standards here include Satisfy My Soul, Exodus, Is This Love and Redemption Song.  Chineke! founder Chi-chi Nwanoku OBE discusses the project HERE, see the performance video for the first single One Love/People Get Ready HERE


The genesis of the idea for Bob Marley & the Chineke! Orchestra came via the acclaimed cellist and 2016 BBC Young Musician of the Year Sheku Kanneh-Mason MBE. Now a full-time solo artist and no longer an active Chineke! member, it was Kanneh-Mason's pioneering and original arrangements of Marley's No Woman, No Cry and Redemption Song that initially captured the attention and appreciation of Tuff Gong and the Bob Marley estate and helped start the Chineke! journey.


Chi-chi Nwanoku OBE explains,  "As a purely trained classical musician, the idea of being involved in a musical collaboration with the legendary Bob Marley was truly mind-blowing. I ardently believe that all genres of music should be open to absolutely everyone, so it was wonderful for Chineke! to be able to bring new orchestrations to these iconic tracks."



Bob Marley & the Chineke! Orchestra tracklist:

  1. Exodus
  2. Stir It Up
  3. One Love/People Get Ready
  4. Get Up, Stand Up
  5. Is This Love
  6. Redemption Song
  7. Top Rankin'
  8. Satisfy My Soul
  9. I Shot The Sheriff
  10. Turn Your Lights Down Low


About Chineke!

Founded in 2015 by music professor and double bassist Chi-chi Nwanoku OBE under the motto 'championing change and celebrating diversity in classical music', Chineke! made their debut performance in September 2015 at the Queen Elizabeth Hall in London's Southbank Centre. They are now the Southbank’s resident orchestra.


Tirelessly working to create opportunities for established and up-and-coming ethnically diverse musicians and nurturing new talent by providing role models and celebrating diversity in classical music, Chineke! were honoured at the 30th anniversary of The Royal Philharmonic Society RPS Awards with the inaugural 'Gamechanger' Award in 2019. They continue to be covered extensively by national and international press and broadcast media, most recently by The Times (UK) and The New York Times.


Bob Marley remains one of the 20th century's most important and influential entertainment icons and he has the second-highest social media following of any posthumous celebrity. His Facebook page draws more than 70 million fans, ranking it in the Top 20 Facebook pages and Top 10 among celebrity pages. In addition, LEGEND is the 17th best-selling album of all time in the UK, having spent 1019 consecutive weeks on UK Official Album Chart.



Connect here: