Open Nav

DEAN LEWIS SOARING NEW SINGLE ‘HURTLESS’

OFFICIAL VIDEO SHOT IN IRELAND WITH AWARD WINNING DIRECTOR JAMES FITZGERALD

 

TOURING NORTH AMERICA IN MAY/JUNE

 

Photo credit: Darren Craig

 

LISTEN HERE | WATCH HERE

 

01 APRIL 2022 (TORONTO, ON) - Dean Lewis returns with his first single of 2022 ‘Hurtless’ taken from his forthcoming second album.

 

Following on from 2021’s ‘Looks Like Me’ and ‘Falling Up’, ‘Hurtless’ it’s an honest, revealing piece of songwriting that sees Lewis emotionally replay the crushing end of a relationship. The soaring ballad balances the despair of a breakup with a feeling of hope, envisioning a brighter future. 

 

Written from the heart about a true story Lewis says, “You know when you plan your entire life out with someone, you see your future with that person, then all of a sudden one night, they do something and from that point on, you realise they are not the person you thought they were. All your plans for the future aren’t going to happen and you’re back to just being with yourself.”

 

This new single features some of his most vivid songwriting yet. In the chorus, the stark imagery of “standing in a black dress” is used by Lewis as a metaphor depicting the juxtaposition between wearing white to a wedding and wearing black to a funeral. 

 

The lady wearing the black dress to me, represents the funeral of the relationship,” he says.

 

It’s a dark portrayal but as always with Lewis’ music, there’s a focus on a future where it doesn’t feel like this anymore. “I know the day will come when this won’t hurt anymore, and all the pain is just an afterthought,” he sings.

 

‘Hurtless’ is accompanied by a video shot in Ireland and directed by James Fitzgerald (Kodaline, Purple Disco Machine, James). Fitzgerald is a multi award winning director/writer.  In 2021, his short film, The Invisible Boy, was long listed for an Oscar, along with an IFTA nomination and a Young Director Awards shortlist at the Cannes lions. Fitzgerald has created a deeply affecting music video for ‘Hurtless’ that features a man in a coma after a tragic incident reflecting on what went wrong in his relationship. Irish actors Frank Blake (‘Normal People’, ‘Game Of Thrones’, ‘The Frankenstein Chronicles’, ‘Vikings: Valhalla') and Stephanie Dufresne (‘As Luck Would Have It’) give a powerful performance with Lewis making a cameo during the clip’s climax. 

 

Lewis is laying the groundwork for the follow-up to his 2019 debut album ‘A Place We Knew’. The #1 ARIA album and ARIA Album Of The Year spawned Number 1 single ‘Be Alright’ which has over 3 billion streams. ‘Half A Man’ from the album has recently received a second life after being performed on the X Factor in Denmark. It reached Number 1 on the Danish charts and currently has over 340 million streams.  Dean will be heading to North America for his ‘Sad Boi Winter Summer’ tour next month, with additional Europe, UK, Ireland tour dates being announced next week.  Lewis’ first TV performance of ‘Hurtless’ will be on Star Académie, Canada (April 3rd) with a viewership of over 1.5 million people.

 

 

SAD BOI WINTER SUMMER GLOBAL TOUR

Monday May 9 - The Plaza Live - Orlando, FL

Tuesday May 10 - Revolution Live - Ft. Lauderdale, FL

Thursday May 12 - The Eastern - Atlanta, GA

Friday May 13 - Marathon Music Works - Nashville, TN

Saturday May 14 - The Underground - Charlotte, NC

Monday May 16 - Union Transfer - Philadelphia, PA

Tuesday May 17 - The Fillmore - Silver Spring, MD

Friday May 20 - Webster Hall - New York City, NY

Saturday May 21 - Roadrunner - Boston, MA

Monday May 23 - MTELUS - Montreal, QC

Tuesday May 24 - HISTORY - Toronto, ON

Thursday May 26 - Saint Andrew’s Hall - Detroit, MI

Friday May 27 - Riviera Theatre - Chicago, IL

Saturday May 28 - Fillmore Minneapolis - Minneapolis, MN

Monday May 30 - Ogden Theatre - Denver, CO

Tuesday May 31 - The Depot - Salt Lake City, UT

Thursday June 2 - Malkin Bowl - Vancouver, BC

Saturday June 4- The Showbox - Seattle, WA

Sunday June 5 - Roseland Theater - Portland, OR

Tuesday June 7 - The Regency Ballroom - San Francisco, CA

Wednesday June 8 - Fonda Theatre - Los Angeles, CA

Saturday June 11 - The Observatory North Park - San Diego, CA

Sunday June 12 - Marquee Theatre - Tempe, AZ

Wednesday June 15 - Granada Theater - Dallas, TX

Thursday June 16 - Emos Austin - Austin, TX

Friday June 17 - Warehouse Live - Houston, TX

Monday June 20 - The Orange Peel - Asheville, NC

Tuesday June 21 - The National - Richmond, VA

Thursday June 23 - Asbury Lanes - Asbury Park, NJ

Friday June 24 - Mr. Small’s Theatre - Millvale, PA

Saturday June 25 - Deluxe At Old National Centre - Indianapolis, IN

Tuesday June 28 - The Pageant - St. Louis, MO

Wednesday June 29 - The Truman - Kansas City, MO

Sunday July 10 - Wonderstruck Festival - Cleveland, OH

 

 

About Dean Lewis

Dean Lewis has amassed over 6.3 billion streams of his music and has sold 3.1m+ albums and EPs worldwide. Lewis currently has 1 million subscribers on YouTube and a further 1.2 million subscribers on TikTok. His ARIA #1 single ‘Be Alright’ inducted him into the prestigious Spotify Billions Club. His projects have accumulated 15 ARIA Award nominations including a win for Album Of The Year and Best Male Artist. Since his debut, he’s been featured as Apple Music’s Up Next Artist, sold-out headline tours in Australia and the US, and graced festival stages across the world. In 2019, he played the main stage at Splendour In The Grass and also performed at the AFL Grand Final. 2021’s singles ‘Falling Up’ and ‘Look Like Me’ have amassed close to 100 million streams accumulatively while the former was nominated for Song Of The Year at the 2021 ARIA Awards.

 

FOLLOW DEAN LEWIS

INSTAGRAM | FACEBOOK | TWITTER | YOUTUBE | WEBSITE | SPOTIFY | APPLE | AMAZON | TIKTOK