Open Nav








15 March 2019 (Toronto, ON) - Ground-breaking composer and pianist Ludovico Einaudi, one of the most successful musicians on the planet, today releases his 14th studio album, Seven Days Walking: Day One, the first of seven albums to be released over seven consecutive months, on Decca Records/Universal Music Canada, the country’s leading music company. Listen to Day One HERE.






Seven Days Walking is Einaudi’s most ambitious project of his 30-year career and the first of its kind for any classical artist. After today’s release, Seven Days Walking: Day Two will follow a month later. Each ‘day’ will then be released, digitally, a month apart, leading up to ‘Day Seven’ which will be released in the autumn in a box-set of the complete Seven Days.


Inspiration for the entire project derived from walks that Einaudi would take through the mountains in winter. He explains, "In January last year I often went for long walks in the mountains, always following more or less the same trail. It snowed heavily, and my thoughts roamed free inside the storm, where all shapes, stripped bare by the cold, lost their contours and colours. Perhaps that feeling of extreme essence was the origin of this album."


The first album, which interweaves piano and strings in his unmistakable style, focuses on several main themes, which then recur in different forms on the following albums – seven variations following the same imaginary itinerary. Or the same itinerary, retraced at seven different times.


Elaborating further, the composer says “In the end I decided to thread them all together in a sort of musical labyrinth, a little like stepping inside the twists and turns of the creative process, to understand how a musical idea can develop in multiple directions, and changing once again at the moment in which it is heard."


Seven Days Walking was recorded between September and October of last year in Schloss Elmau, Germany and London’s Air Studios, and features the highly talented Federico Mecozzi on violin and viola and Redi Hasa on cello, alongside Ludovico himself on piano.


Einaudi, whose unique musical style is renowned around the world, repeatedly tops the classical charts globally with his hauntingly beautiful and evocative music. With over 1 million streams a day the pianist has clocked up a staggering 2 billion streams, making him the biggest streamed classical artist of all time. Einaudi’s last album, Elements, released in 2015, saw him become the first classical composer in over 20 years to reach the Top 15 of the Official UK Album Charts.



Ludovico Einaudi - Seven Days Walking: Day One:

  1. Low Mist Var 1
  2. Low Mist
  3. Gravity
  4. Matches
  5. Cold Wind Var 1
  6. Golden Butterflies
  7. Fox Tracks
  8. A Sense of Symmetry
  9. The Path of the Fossils
  10. Ascent
  11. Low Mist Var 2




Ludovico Einaudi’s music has become some of the most recognizable in the world through its use in films and advertisements, making him the world’s most ubiquitous contemporary composer. He has provided music for numerous films including Shane Meadows’ This Is England and the TV sequels This Is England ‘86 (for which he earned a BAFTA nomination), This Is England ‘88, and This Is England ‘90. His music also appears in numerous feature films and trailers, including the Joaquin Phoenix mockumentary I’m Still Here, the French Oscar nominee Untouchables and the multi-award-winning film Mommy by Xavier Dolan, as well as regularly being heard on popular weekly television programmes and high-profile adverts. Fans include Nicki Minaj, who walks onstage to his music, Iggy Pop, Tom Hiddleston and Ellie Goulding, to name a few. Championed by BBC Radio 1 DJ Greg James, Einaudi’s music has been sampled by Professor Green and remixed by Mogwai and Starkey. In 2016 the pianist performed on a floating platform in the middle of the Arctic Ocean, specially built by Greenpeace, to raise awareness of global warming.


Described by The Daily Telegraph as a “pianist with rock god tendencies”, Einaudi has performed sold-out shows at the world’s most prestigious venues including the Roundhouse, Royal Albert Hall, Hammersmith Apollo, and the Barbican in London, the Lincoln Centre in New York, the Waldbuhne in Berlin, the Concertgebouw in Amsterdam and the Sydney Opera House.


He has released 13 studio albums: Time Out (’88), Stanze (’92), Salgari (’95), Le Onde (’96), Eden Roc (’99), I Giorni (’01), Una Mattina (’04), Diario Mali [with Ballaké Sissoko] (’05), Divenire (’06), Cloudland [recorded as the group Whitetree] (’09), Nightbook (’09) and In A Times Lapse (’13), Elements (‘15) as well as three live albums recorded at La Scala (’03), in Berlin (’08) and at the Royal Albert Hall (’10).


Einaudi was born in Turin and trained as a classical composer and pianist at the Milan Conservatorio. He studied under Luciano Berio, one of the most important composers of the twentieth century avant-garde. After some early prestigious commissions in the classical world Einaudi turned his back on what he regarded as an essentially conservative approach to music to embrace his own enthusiasms which included African, folk, and rock music.




Follow Ludovico Einaudi: