Open Nav


Star US singer teams up with revered French-Brazilian pianist for 

collection of French love songs, Brazilian standards and brand-new original compositions






Gardot collaborates with the Musée Rodin for new video featuring danseuse étoile Marie-Agnès Gillot and danseur étoile Germain Louvet for new single This Foolish Heart Could Love You, watch here




MARCH 18 2022 (TORONTO, ON) - Today’s announcement of Melody Gardot’s new song ‘This Foolish Heart Could Love You’ anticipates the release of her 6th studio album Entre eux deux, to be released on 20th May on Decca Records. Following the celebrated success of ‘Sunset in the Blue’, which was certified Gold in France, Gardot joins forces with French-born, composer and pianist Philippe Powell (son of Baden Powell) for her first ever studio album in duo. Today Gardot, receives the prestigious title of Chevalier in the Ordre des Arts et des Lettres, France’s highest cultural accolade.

Off the back of her collaboration with Sting on the song ‘Little Something’, where she had featured performances on BBC1’s The One Show, Good Morning America, and Skavlan, Gardot continues her collaborative spirit on her new album. An extensive run of live dates now follows into the end of the year, including a three-night residence at the legendary Olympia, Paris (Nov. 21-23, 2022) marking an astounding 23 shows at this iconic venue. [LINK TO TICKETS]


Sensual, romantic and intimate, the first single ‘This Foolish Heart Could Love You’ (Gardot/Powell) arrives alongside a breathtaking video, produced by 24-7 Productions. Directed by rising star, Beki Mari, who has previously worked with the likes of Rita Ora, Glass Animals, Sigrid, Paloma Faith and Sting, the video is curated in partnership with the Musée Rodin (Paris).


The duality of the musicians is cleverly represented in a music video that does not feature the faces of Gardot and Powell, but instead, two new stars: danseuse étoile Marie-Agnès Gillot, along with her male counterpart from L’Opera Garnier, danseur étoile Germain Louvet. Dressed in archive pieces by Japanese Designer Issey Miyake, their movements dash in and out of sunlight from within the walls of the Musée Rodin as they emulate the feeling of that fleeting moment where love just might escape one’s grasp. Choreographed by Marie-Agnès Gillot, the visual piece brings to life the artist August Rodin’s work, as if to ‘flip the switch’ on who is the muse and who is the artist. The dancers draw their inspiration from the sculptures scattered throughout the museum, while their movements pay homage to some of the most celebrated work of Rodin, whose sculptures were often inspired not by models but, in fact, dancers.


Offering a unique minimalist approach, the ten-song album is a sparse architectural landscape filled exclusively by piano & voice (tuned to 432hz which is also the tuning used in Gardot’s album ‘Currency of Man’). Notably, it is also the first time that Gardot invited someone to take her usual place at the helm of the piano for the duration of the recording. The entire record features Philippe Powell (who Gardot adoringly calls “The Bill Evans of Brazil”) on keys.


The unique combination of Powell and Gardot’s partnership results in many of the songs sounding as if they have come straight out of the Great American Songbook. The only twist of lime is that at times, these “new standards” offer a Gershwinian nod to what could be otherwise dubbed the “Great French Songbook”, since several titles are in the language of the city where they were conceived (France).


Gardot explains, “If I had to sum up the record in a few words, I’d say this record is a dance between two people who love and value the same things: deep poetry and solid melodies” explains Gardot. “The title ‘Entre eux deux’ (loosely translated as “between us two”) stands true; it is a peek into the world of two artists who just really dig each other...we hope you dig it too”.


Philippe Powell adds, This record is the most wonderful gift a pianist-composer could ever dream of. To write and perform in duo with one of the great artists of our time is the greatest musical experience I have ever had. I am profoundly grateful to Melody, for her love, her trust, her guidance, for bringing out the best within me, and for tireless efforts, and countless hours of hard work to produce this beautiful record.

In these French songs, we find Gardot and Powell in full swing on an original song cleverly dedicated to the Eiffel Tower “mais si l’on cherche une romance encore plus belle, on vas s’embrasser à La Tour Eiffel”. Gardot then touches on a comical play-by-play on how best to deliver flowers to a woman “surtout pas les fleurs Dimanche matin”. Finally, a legendary love story revisited (singing in duo) on “Plus Fort que Nous” from Claude Lelouche’s French cinema classic Un Homme et Une Femme.

The backstory of the album resembles what one could envision as a brief stint at Warhol’s factory. Challenging themselves to create on the clock, these two artists came together for a period of two weeks, writing all hours of the day, sharing melodies, motifs, and lyrics. While original songs were the main objective, paying tribute was also part of the game. Revisiting the legacy of Powell’s father (Brazilian composer/guitarist Baden Powell) these two proudly carry the Franco-Brazilian torch that was lit so many years ago between celebrated artists Pierre Barouh, Vinicius de Moraes, and Baden Powell. This nod to the past is clear to see, while revisiting the title “Samba em Preludio/Un Jour Sans Toi” where Powell and Gardot sing for the second time in duet.


‘Entre eux deux’ is an impeccably crafted collection of songs shining a spotlight on both artists in their lane as composers and performers. Gardot’s mellifluous vocals, Powell’s consummate piano technique and a seemingly telepathic connection between two distinctive musical voices make this record feel like an instant classic.


Co-Presidents of Decca Label Group, Tom Lewis and Laura Monks, say, "This album is like a whispered conversation between two friends. It is hard to overstate its beauty, intimacy, and simplicity. It is a love letter to jazz and a love letter to France. We are in constant awe of Melody - she never stops seeking new perspectives in her music. And, in Philippe, she has found an extraordinary fellow explorer."



Track listing:
1. This Foolish Heart Could Love You
2. What Of Your Eyes
3. Plus Fort Que Nous
4. À La Tour Eiffel
5. Fleurs Du Dimanche
6. Samba Em Prelúdio (Un Jour Sans Toi)
7. Perhaps You’ll Wonder Why
8. Recitativo
9. Ode To Every Man
10. Darling Fare Thee Well


Follow Melody: Website | Facebook | Twitter | Instagram | YouTube