Open Nav



04 OCTOBER 2019 (TORONTO, ON) - Today, platinum-selling artist MIKA shares his fifth studio album, My Name Is Michael Holbrook released via Virgin EMI/Universal Music Canada, the country's leading music company. 


Listen to My Name Is Michael Holbrook HERE


With My Name Is Michael Holbrook, MIKA has crafted a world of gritty romance amidst the playfulness of technicoloured alternative pop. The album features previously released singles "Ice Cream", a 90s inspired pop anthem, as well as "Tiny Love" - one of the most intimate and introspective songs MIKA has ever written. His most recent single, electro-tropical hit "Sanremo" is a track full of energy that shimmers with the heat of the summer and invites listeners into MIKA’s familiar world of magic realism.


MIKA continues to demonstrate his versatility as an artist, having written the entire album between Miami and Tuscany over the course of two years, after which he went to Brussels to record with producers Marc Crew and Dan Priddy (Bastille, Rag’n’Bone Man). Together they crafted organic soundscapes spanning different decades of pop and tracked the entire album live using vintage synths and enlisted all star instrumentalists from around the world. 


Speaking on the Album, MIKA explains: “I wanted to find out where I came from and why my legal name is Michael Penniman Holbrook Junior,” says MIKA. “I had the title of the album before I had the album. It was a manifesto. It was a challenge for me.” Seeking to uncover the identity of MIKA before ‘Grace Kelly’, he found a profound sense of joy at his discovery. “It was quite liberating. I freed myself of the idea of MIKA.” With My Name Is Michael Holbrook, MIKA intimately shares his whole self with his audience. All he asks now is for us to do the same: “We don’t need perfection. We need character, we need emotion. To feel free to express yourself,” says MIKA. “Express yourself, you won’t be judged here.” 


MIKA will kick off his recently announced forthcoming European tour, in London this November with stops through Spain, France, Switzerland, Italy and more. He is also planning select U.S shows this autumn. Full list of live dates and ticket information for Europe here.


MIKA’s musical success began with the release of his hit single, "Grace Kelly". The single was featured on his debut album, Life In Cartoon Motion, which went straight to #1 in the UK and 11 other countries, going on to sell over 7 million copies worldwide. Since his debut he has released three other Platinum selling full length albums, The Boy Who Knew Too Much, The Origin of Love, and No Place In Heaven.  


In addition, MIKA has not only won a Brit Award for British Breakthrough Act, but he has been nominated for Grammys, MTV Europe Music Awards, Capital Radio Awards and World Music Awards. Additionally, his RA12 primetime variety show ‘Stasera Casa Mika’ won the prestigious Rose D’or Award for Best Entertainment Series in 2017.  He has been a judge on France’s The Voice for six years and hosts his own BBC2 Radio show ‘The Art of Song’.


My Name Is Michael Holbrook - Tracklist:

  1. Ice Cream
  2. Tiny Love
  3. Dear Jealousy
  4. Paloma
  5. Sanremo
  6. Tomorrow
  7. Ready To Call This Love
  8. Cry
  9. Platform Ballerinas
  10. I Went To Hell Last Night
  11. Blue
  12. Stay High
  13. Tiny Love (Reprise)