Open Nav








Praise for debut album Mura Masa

“Brilliantly clever…bubbling with energy and ideas” Observer, **** Album of the Week

"Fresh and immediate...pure quality, from start to finish" Q, ****

“As forward-thinking and futuristic as they come” NME, **** Album of the Week

“A dizzying exploration of musical subcultures…this is what pop should be: diverse, interesting and surprising” Mixmag, 9/10

“A dazzling tribute to London’s rich multiculturalism…a feast of sounds and flavours” NPR

“A portrait of the artist as a young man…abandon, uncertainty, and a lust for love and life” Billboard

"An album that we'll look back on as one that not only soundtracks 2017, but defines it as as snapshot of a fresh sound" Dork ****


07 NOVEMBER 2019 (TORONTO, ON) - Mura Masa has today premiered explosive new single “Deal Wiv It” (with slowthai), which premiered as Annie Mac’s Hottest Record in the World and is taken from his much-anticipated second album, 'R.Y.C’ (Raw Youth Collage). The record will be released on January 17th, having been introduced by first single “I Don’t Think I Can Do This Again” (with Clairo) and the project’s lyrical centrepiece, “No Hope Generation”. Mura Masa’s world tour is on sale now, including three Canadian shows in Toronto, Montreal and Vancouver.  


Listen to "Deal Wiv It" (with slowthai) HERE


Full of urgency, anger, and caustic humour, “Deal Wiv It” is a timely anthem of defiance set to the timeless influence of Britpop, Punk, and UK rap (all given Mura Masa’s thrillingly modern twist). The track is another culture-colliding moment for the Guernsey-born artist/producer and Northampton-based MC, who first collaborated on the Mercury nominee’s breakout track “Doorman” and reunite alongside “Deal Wiv It’s” iconic one-shot video (filmed in a speeding car in Serbia). Mura Masa spoke to Another Man recently about “Deal Wiv It” and further insight into R.Y.C (Raw Youth Collage) here.


“Deal Wiv It” is a further window into the unique, purposefully-distorted world of R.Y.C (Raw Youth Collage). It’s an ambitious and exciting left-turn from an artist and producer whose ability to always surprise is matched only by his remarkably consistent, singular vision. Breathing new life into - amongst other things – New Wave, Emo, Folk and 90s Rave – the results reinvent Mura Masa's sound whilst also paying tribute to the alternative roots which shaped him when he first became a genuine musical outsider, growing up in the remote island of Guernsey. And it’s this fondness for the music of adolescence – reworked in thoroughly modern, bedroom-pop fashion – that became an analogue for the theme of the album as a whole…


Spiritually, R.Y.C(Raw Youth Collage) addresses a generational addiction to nostalgia, and its uses (and limits) as means of coping with the difficulties of the present. Influenced by ideas around Hauntology, it explores the irony that in times of increased urbanisation and digitisation, somehow it’s never been easier to feel lonely. For Mura Masa, it’s only once we accept nostalgia as a permanent fixture – a fact seemingly embodied by the cyclical phases in which different subcultures, political movements, fashion trends, even musical genres wax and wane – that we can start to learn from it. Why do we keep going back? How reliable is memory? And if your youth – and its assorted musical scenes – will always appear rose-tinted in the rear-view, then perhaps your present is there for the taking, after all.


Despite the odds, Mura Masa's endless desire to learn and push himself further has led to where he finds himself on R.Y.C' (Raw Youth Collage): a still-just-23-year-old, who has already won a Grammy, been shortlisted for an Ivor Novello, appeared on Forbes’ 30 under 30, and shifted more than half a million units of his debut record. Here is an artist able to channel those highs and lows of youth culture, and use it to expand what pop music should sound like today. Because even when interrogating the past, Mura Masa sounds like the future. 


‘R.Y.C’ (Raw Youth Collage) is available to pre-order digitally, physically (LP, CD) with additional formats including recycled cassette and the deluxe bundle (includes Pressure Sensitive Vinyl Sleeve & ‘R.Y.C (Raw Youth Collage)’ book at:


R.Y.C (Raw Youth Collage) - Tracklist

  1. Raw Youth Collage
  2. No Hope Generation
  3. I Don’t Think I Can Do This Again (with Clairo)
  4. ‘a meeting at an oak tree (with Ned Green)
  5. Deal Wiv It (with slowthai)
  6. vicarious living anthem
  7. In My Mind
  8. Today’ (with Tirzah)
  9. Live Like We’re Dancing (with Georgia)
  10. Teenage Headache Dreams (with Ellie Rowsell)
  11. (nocturne for strings and a conversation)


World Tour (General Sale November 1st) – Canadian Dates:

Fri 24 Apr || Vancouver, BC || The Vogue

Fri 01 May || Toronto, ON || Rebel

Sat 02 May|| Montreal, QC || MTelus



Follow Mura Masa:

Website | Facebook | Twitter | Instagram | YouTube