Open Nav


Winners At The 65th Annual Grammy® Awards Include:


Samara Joy Wins For Best New Artist and Best Jazz Vocal Album (Linger Awhile)


Madison Cunningham Wins For Best Folk Album (Revealer)


 Renée Fleming And Yannick Nézet-Séguin For Best Classical Solo Vocal Album (Voice of Nature — The Anthropocene)


Time for Three Takes Home Best Classical Instrumental Solo (Letters for the Future)


Kevin Puts for Best Contemporary Classical Composition (Puts: Contact)



6 FEBRUARY 2023 (TORONTO, ON) – At the 65th annual GRAMMY® Awards ceremony, Verve Label Group and its affiliate partners once again showcased the breadth of their roster of artists with multiple meaningful wins across a variety of categories. Grammy winners include rising star Samara Joy, for the prestigious Best New Artist award and Best Jazz Vocal Album; Madison Cunningham, for Best Folk Album; established icon Renée Fleming, for Best Classical Solo Vocal Album; Time for Three, for Best Classical Instrumental Solo; and Kevin Puts, for Best Contemporary Classical Composition. With a staggering 23 nominations, the remarkable night marks Verve Label Group as a consistent destination for its best-in-class artists across a varied array of categories including Folk, R&B, Pop, Jazz, Classical, Roots, and more.  


On the stellar night of wins, Dickon Stainer, President and CEO of Universal Classics, and Jazz and Verve Label Group says “We are OVERJOYED with the success our artists have garnered tonight.  It showcases the extraordinary talent of our nominees and winners across a diverse range of categories from Best New Artist to Best Classical Solo Vocal Album.  It’s an honor to help propel the discovery of such peerless talent on a global scale and we thank the Grammys for the recognition.”


President of Verve & Impulse Jamie Krents added “We could not be prouder of all of our nominees and winners tonight for their remarkable artistry and vision. Verve’s commitment to artist development is unwavering and it’s been a huge point of pride that we’ve had a Best New Artist nominee in three of the last four years.  To see Samara take home the award is beyond thrilling.”


Verve Records and Verve Forecast artists Samara Joy, Arooj Aftab, and Madison Cunningham took the stage at the Premiere Ceremony; Arooj Aftab performing “Udhero Na,” which was nominated for Best Global Music Performance, Samara Joy performing “Can’t Get Out Of This Mood,” and Madison Cunningham performing “Life According to Raechel.” 


Decca Records US, the number one classical label in the United States which looks after releases from iconic international labels Deutsche Grammophon, Decca Records, and Decca Classics among others, won in three classical categories. Renée Fleming and Yannick Nézet-Séguin were awarded Best Classical Solo Vocal Album for their critically-acclaimed Voice of Nature — The Anthropocene. The award makes Renée Fleming’s fifth Grammy win and eighteenth nomination. Garnering their first Grammy is Deutsche Grammophon's Time for Three, taking home Best Classical Instrumental Solo for their album Letters for the Future. Additionally, Composer Kevin Puts scored a Grammy for Best Contemporary Classical Composition for his stunning Contact.


Verve is thrilled to have another breakout artist in a top category with Best New Artist Samara Joy, as Jon Batiste won Album of the Year in 2022 along with four other GRAMMY awards. With a bevy of first time GRAMMY winning artists including Madison Cunningham, Samara Joy, Time for Three, and Kevin Puts, the night’s achievements showcases the label’s continued success across a variety of genres and ongoing dedication to artist development.


Verve Label Group

The Verve Label Group (VLG), a division of Universal Music Group, comprises some of the world’s most iconic label imprints, including Decca Records US, Decca Classics, Deutsche Grammophon, Mercury KX, Impulse! Records, Verve Records, and Verve Forecast, along with label partner ECM among others. VLG’s current roster includes Samara Joy, Kurt Vile, Max Richter, Jon Batiste, Ólafur Arnalds, Ludovico Einaudi, Tank and the Bangas, Lang Lang, S.G. Goodman, Blake Mills, Shabaka Hutchings, Madison Cunningham and many more.  



Best New Artist

Samara Joy


Best Jazz Vocal Album

Linger Awhile  

Samara Joy 


Best Folk Album


Madison Cunningham 


Best Classical Instrumental Solo

Letters for the Future 

Time for Three; Xian Zhang, conductor (The Philadelphia Orchestra) 


Best Classical Solo Vocal Album

Voice of Nature — The Anthropocene 

Renée Fleming, soloist; Yannick Nézet-Séguin, pianist 


Best Contemporary Classical Composition

Puts: Contact

Kevin Puts, composer