Open Nav






06 JULY 2020 (TORONTO, ON) - The vinyl reissue of PJ Harvey’s entire back catalog continues this summer with Rid Of Me and "4-Track Demos" out August 21 on UMe/Island/Universal Music Canada, the country's leading music company.


Listen to "Rid Of Me" HERE and "4-Track Demos" HERE


Just a year after the acclaimed release of debut album DRY (1992), Harvey returned with her second studio album Rid Of Me in May 1993. Produced by Steve Albini it featured the singles “50ft Queenie” and “Man-Size.” Rid Of Me charted at No. 3 in the U.K.


4-Track Demos – released in October of the same year – is a collection of demos written and recorded at Harvey’s home throughout 1991 and 1992.  Self-produced, it presents the songs in a simple first incarnation on a record of “depth, range and conceptual completeness” (Rolling Stone).


Taken together, these two releases made for an astonishing major label debut on Island Records in 1993, a body of work which has lost none of its urgent potency. This period also firmly established Harvey’s creative relationship with photographer and director Maria Mochnacz who shot the artwork for both records and also directed the videos for “50ft Queenie” and “Man-Size.”


Watch fully restored video for “50ft Queenie” HERE


Rid Of Me is repressed on vinyl for the first time since its original release in 1993. Out 21 August on UMe/Island. Pre order HERE

4-Track Demos is also reissued on stand alone vinyl from 21 August on UMe/Island. Pre order HERE 

Dry - Demos is available on digital, CD and vinyl on 24 July on UMe/Island Records. Pre-order HERE

Dry (studio album) is available on Too Pure/Beggars Archive on vinyl on July 24. Pre-order HERE


Praise for Rid Of Me:


“...PJ Harvey’s searing and monumental album from 1993." - Pitchfork 


“...a raw album of frazzled nerves and frayed neuroses…” - The Guardian 


"A tough listen then, even at its comparative prettiest, but an essential one that demands your attention from beginning to end.” - BBC


"This is an album of defiance – harrowing and brilliant." - Record Collector 


Notes to Editors:




Reissue on vinyl of the first PJ Harvey studio album in the Island Records catalog, and her second studio album.


Produced by Steve Albini and originally released in May 1993, RID OF ME features the singles “50ft Queenie” and “Man-Size.”  The album charted at No. 3 in the U.K.


Reissue is faithful to the original recording and package, cutting by Bob Weston at Chicago Mastering under the guidance of Steve Albini.


LP Info

  • 1LP, 180gsm black vinyl
  • Full colour outer sleeve, with printed inner sleeve
  • Download card




Vinyl reissue of 4-TRACK DEMOS, a collection of demos written and recorded at Polly Harvey’s home in 1991-1992. Originally released in 1993, 4-TRACK DEMOS includes eight demos of songs from the album RID OF ME, released earlier in that year, along with six demos of additional songs.


The new reissue is faithful to the original package, with vinyl cutting by Jason Mitchell at Loud Mastering.


LP Info

  • 1LP, 180gsm black vinyl
  • Full colour outer sleeve, with printed inner sleeve
  • Download card




  1. Rid of Me
  2. Legs
  3. Reeling
  4. Snake
  5. Hook
  6. 50ft Queenie
  7. Driving
  8. Ecstasy
  9. Hardly Wait
  10. Rub ‘til it Bleeds
  11. Easy
  12. M-Bike
  13. Yuri-G
  14. Goodnight


UMe/Island have announced comprehensive reissue campaign which will see PJ Harvey’s entire back catalog - plus her two albums in collaboration with John Parish - released on vinyl over the next 12 months. For the first time, each of PJ Harvey’s album demos will be available as a stand-alone album on digital and vinyl.


This catalog project will celebrate every aspect of Harvey’s recording career and afford a comprehensive and exciting look at the evolution of one of the most singular and extraordinary artists of modern times.