Open Nav




10 JUNE 2022 (Toronto, ON) – Today, Montréal’s one-to-watch multi-talent Zach Zoya, releases his new EP No Love Is Ever Wasted via 7ième Ciel/Universal Music Canada, the country’s leading music company. After showcasing the complexity of his rapid metaphoric rhymes and versatility as a vocalist on his 2020 debut EP Spectrum, this sophomore project shows Zoya’s growth into unveiled songwriting territory.


“Music is my outlet to be vulnerable and it can be a very emotional thing,” says Zoya. “These songs are contemplations on the decisions I’ve made and the consequences that have come with them. For this project, I challenged myself to express my vulnerability in the most accessible way I could, so I took the layers off my lyrics and explored more pop and R&B melodies and man, writing catchy pop songs with direct, relatable lyrics is a real skill.”


Listen to No Love Is Ever Wasted HERE


Lyrics like “I contemplate the night sky before I fall asleep / My own sense of purpose, what I want and what I ought to be / All these distant stars that had to die to make part of me / Everything that has to happen right to live in harmony” on one of the EP’s deep cuts “All Alone In The Universe” give a glimpse into Zoya’s journey in self-reflection and gratitude that is evident throughout the EP.


“I tend to battle with the feeling of wasted time,” he shares. “This EP is a message to myself. It’s a reminder that even if goals or relationships aren’t fully realized, the passion that goes into those experiences is valuable. That’s where the lessons are.”



Released alongside the EP today is the official music video for Zach Zoya’s brand-new single “Upper Hand” featuring fellow Montréal songwriter and producer Soran. Directed by Dan LeMoyne (Diplo, Jessie Reyez, The Weeknd), the cinematic video, filmed in an abandoned Montréal bank, depicts the struggle of finding emotional balance within a relationship. The chorus, personified by blustering winds whipping around Zoya and Soran, begs, You know I want to be what you never had / For once let me have the upper hand / I don’t want to sound too bold yeah / But baby let me take control yeah.”


Watch the official music video for “Upper Hand” featuring Soran HERE 


In just a few years, Zach Zoya has become a central figure in Montréal’s flourishing music scene. Raised in rural French-speaking Québec without a computer or television, he learned English by listening to American hip-hop, R&B and soul music. Zoya’s undeniable passion for songwriting and performance led him to leave school early and pursue a career in music in Montréal. Within the year, he was discovered by French rap powerhouse label 7ième Ciel, became the first English-speaking artist signed to the illustrious label, and began developing his sound. In 2019, he signed with Canada’s largest music company Universal Music Canada and began collaborating with some of the country’s biggest producers for his debut EP including GRAMMY Award winner Boi-1da, GRAMMY Award nominee DTRWRK, Latin GRAMMY Award nominees and Multi-Platinum producers Banx & Ranx, JUNO Award winner Matthew Burnett, Multi-Platinum producer Don Mills (J Cole, Giveon, Juice WRLD) and others. Released to critical acclaim, Spectrum landed Zach on coveted ones-to-watch and best-of lists and earned him several award nominations including the 2021 Berlin Music Video Awards and the 2021 ADISQ Award for International Collaboration of the Year with UK artist/producer Angel for the single “Patience”.


Zach Zoya’s success has continued over the past year as singles from No Love Is Ever Wasted have earned him millions of streams and three nominations at the 2022 Gala Dynastie Awards. His first radio single, “Start Over” (feat. Benny Adam) is a Top 10 radio hit in Canada and earned him the title of a YouTube Trending Artist on the Rise. One of three Canadian artists chosen for Soundcloud’s 2022 Black History Month initiative and selected by both NFL Canada and the Canadian Elite Basketball League for exclusive and inaugural halftime show performances, Zach Zoya’s natural talent continues to be sought out.


As pandemic restrictions lifted, Zoya eagerly returned to his love of live performance. After spending the past year touring with four-time JUNO Award winner Charlotte Cardin, performing at Osheaga’s Get Together Festival, the Montréal International Jazz Festival, MURAL Festival and eventually traveling outside of Canada for performances at New York’s Ludlow House and School Night in Los Angeles, Zach Zoya is even more amped to hit the summer stages. Already announced are performances at this year’s Osheaga Music and Arts Festival and Festival international des Mongoltfieres de Saint-Jean sur Richelieu with many more to come!

No Love Is Ever Wasted Tracklisting:

  1. Strangers In The House (feat. Soran)
  2. Understand
  3. Feelings
  4. My Ex Gurl
  5. Smoke & Dance
  6. All Alone In The Universe
  7. Upper Hand (feat. Soran)
  8. Start Over (feat. Benny Adam)


Photo Credit: Drowster


Stay up to date with Zach Zoya by signing up to his mailing list HERE