Your Cart

The Roots

How I Got Over [Blue LP]

The Roots

Long-awaited 2010 album from Hip Hop pioneers The Roots. The album, which takes it's name from Clara Ward's Gospel classic, is The Roots' first new release since joining Late Night with Jimmy Fallon for a full time gig as the show's house band. Grammy Award winners The Roots characterize the songs on the album as "depicting the everyman's search for hope in this dispiriting post-hope zeitgeist". The lead single, "Dear God 2.0.", re-imagines the Monsters of Folk song "Dear God" and features MOF members Yim Yames from My Morning Jacket, Conor Oberst and Mike Mogis from Bright Eyes and M. Ward. Also includes two appearances from Grammy-winning Soul man John Legend. Other guests on HIGO include Joanna Newsom, Blu, Peedi Peedi, Mercedes Martinez, Icelandic alt-pop singer Patty Crash, newcomer Sugar Tongue Slim as well as long time Roots' Crew members Dice Raw, Truck North and P.O.R.N.


Side A

  1. A Peace Of Light feat. Amber Coffman, Angel Deradoorian & Haley Dekle
  2. Walk Alone feat. Truck North, P.O.R.N. & Dice Raw
  3. Dear God 2.0 feat. Monsters Of Folk
  4. Radio Daze feat. Blu, P.O.R.N. & Dice Raw
  5. Now Or Never feat. Phonte & Dice Raw
  6. How I Got Over feat. Dice Raw
  7. DillaTUDE: The Flight of Titus

Side B

  1. The Day feat. Blu, Phonte & Patty Crash
  2. Right On feat. Joanna Newsom & STS
  3. Doin' It Again
  4. The Fire feat. John Legend
  5. Tunnel Vision
  6. Web 20/20 feat. Peedi Peedi & Truck North
  7. Hustla feat. STS (BONUS)